Betta Fish Forum banner

Hello from a new owner!

2K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  jaela 
#1 ·
Hey there friends! My name is Jami Jo, currently attending school in Santa Barbara, CA, and I recently got a betta to keep me company in my lonely little room in the residence hall. =']

She is, I think, a female plakat -- or else a very short-finned male. Pretty sure she's a girl, though, and I've named her Ann.

She is in a 2-gallon tank all to herself at the moment with some fake plants and a little rock cave, but I'm planning to buy a larger tank for her this weekend so that I can maybe add tankmates later -- I'm thinking maybe otocinclus because I've had some experience caring for them and like them a lot.

Ann's my first betta, and I'm absolutely delighted at how active and responsive she is! I've never had a fish who was quite so fun to have around and interact with, so I may just be hooked for life!

Anyway, I've been lurking here and reading threads for a while, so I thought I'd go ahead and join up. Looking forward to getting to know all of you!

#3 · (Edited)
Sure thing, I'll add a picture or two to the first post! =]

What friends are you thinking of for your guy?

[edit]
Never mind, looks like I can't edit the other post, bother. Here are a couple pictures of my girl at home:

I don't think you can see it here, but she looks like she has a little smile on her face when viewed from the side! Which was why I chose her. I actually went in there expecting to get a male betta, but I fell in love with her instead. <3

#6 ·
Looking at your pictures, she's a female veiltail. Also, I hope you're doing routive half water changes a week with that small a home for her. ;)

Bettas can be harder than other fish to take care of, and there are a lot of myths out there about proper care. They like big homes, of course, and any tankmates should be chosen carefully. Make sure you research and don't overcrowd just because it's a larger tank.

#7 ·