Betta Fish Forum banner

Eels, colorful fish and tank cleaners to go with a betta male

18K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  Olympia 
#1 ·
Hi there, i'm new with fish so i'll need easy-care fish ^_^; JUST wondering about this!

1) What types of eels can go with betta fish, I wish to know their tank requirements too but I can research them myself ;D

2) [Continued thru the post...] I know that colorful finned fish ARE a bad idea for a male betta but I do wish for ideas in fish I would like and I have feelings there may be something out there for me that maybe surprisingly works out with male bettas and planted tanks.

I do not like... :-(
Browns, greys or all one standard color or two.
Plain old guppies they're very standard in color.
The typical sword tailed guppies because they still look plain.
Typical cat fish tank cleaners.
Snails. Bleh. I might be interested in painted shelled ones.

I love... :-D
colorful salt water fish for an example (yes I will need fresh water Lol)
STRANGE, UNIQUE, Odd fish.
BRIGHT fun colors!

Also almost all eels and see-thru fish some times. Long snouts, long bodies, colors, odd and interesting shapes I guess- I know nothing may exist in these categories but I will keep my head up and try :)

... But I do like these ... (I do know these dont belong with a betta, but I question the colorful guppies which may not also be the best idea but willing to know).

:)

See less See more
#2 ·
What size of a tank do you have? To have other fish with a betta you need a 10+ gallon tank.

#3 ·
Knowing the size of your tank will help us with our suggestions :D

If you don't like cleaner catfish like plecos, i recommend Amano Shrimp. Corydora cat's are also pretty cool, and come in a few different colors/patterns.

As for eels, or any other scaleless fish for that matter, you have to be REALLY c careful of your water quality and other factors. My boyfriend had a couple loaches and a stingray... they are pain to take care of.

#4 ·