Betta Fish Forum banner

Help, my betta fish is dying.

5K views 111 replies 18 participants last post by  ChoclateBetta 
#1 ·
I'm a rookie betta fish owner and I don't know what to do. My male crown tail betta has been acting weird the past few days. He seems to be afraid of me (he used to swim right up to me). He also seems to be just lying on the bottom of the tank not moving at all any time I look at the tank. It looks like he is dead. His fins seem to be bending. He is in a 2.5 gallon tank with a filter and heater. He eats 2-3 pellets twice a day. He still eats just fine. He also gets dried bloodworms once a week. I've tried giving him a pea for possible constipation. I've tried beta fix but I'm afraid of using it because the online reviews are less then favourable. I've also cleaned out his tank yesterday and I changed his filter. The water is conditioned. I'm afraid the next time I look at the tank he will actually be dead because he constantly looks dead until i tap the tank to see if he will move.

I've had him since June and even though its my first fish he's been very happy and healthy until the last little while. Something is obviously happening to him.

Please help... any advice or suggestions?

#10 · (Edited)
Here is the list filled out as requested...

Perhaps this thread should move to the disease & emergency forum?

Housing
What size is your tank? 2.5 gallons
What temperature is your tank? 78 F
Does your tank have a filter? yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? no
Is your tank heated? yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? none - on its own

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? aqueon betta pellets
How often do you feed your betta fish? twice a day (2-3 pellets each meal), also 1 dried bloodworm weekly

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? Typically once every few weeks (did one yesterday and one last week)