Betta Fish Forum banner

Betta flaring at new tankmate!

6K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Plakattyphoon1234 
#1 ·
Hello!

This is my first time on the forum, I hope you guys can help!

Here's the story: I bought some hornwort for my 15 G tank to help the tank thrive and to see if I could handle the basics of aquatic plants. I checked it over for snails first, and thought that there were none, so I was pretty happy. Two weeks later (today), I came home from a weekend with my family to discover baby snails everywhere! My betta and platies did not mind them, but I'd rather not have an infestation.

Anyways, I bought myself a 41 cent comet goldfish after researching tankmates that will eat snails. For the first hour everything was good, goldfih eating snails, betta swimming around, platies doing their thing.

However, my betta started to flare up at the goldfish! He is flaring up and trying to corral him into corners, and he is not attacking. This is the first time I've seen Shinji flare up, ever! I've introduced fish before, too, and made sure that the goldfish couldn't be a potential rival (I bought a dull coloured one).

Could this just be Shinji trying to establish dominance in the tank? He doesn't even flare up during mirror play time, and leaves the other fish to their own devices (albeit giving a little chase once in a blue moon)

Please help, I don't want any dead fish, or a stressed out betta.

See less See more
#3 ·
Well, I did my research on the subject, and from first-hand experience I've had goldfish live in water at 75-76 degrees, which is in the betta range

Are there any other conditions, though?

Also, I'm upgrading to a 55 gallon soon, the 15 is temporary (as the goldfish would grow much too large for it)

#4 ·