Betta Fish Forum banner

should i get a filter?

933 views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  Oldfishlady 
#1 ·
Hi fish forum =)
I will be getting a 3 gal tank for my new betta, but im not sure whether or not to get a filter. For a small tank like a 3 gal, is it worth it to try to cycle it? Im guessing that without a filter i will be changing 50% of the water twice a week, and with, 50% once a week. Is it hard to get the cycle going in a small tank? I already have a filter so it's not a matter of buying it...im new to fish care so I don't want anything bad to happen to my new betta if i do something wrong. Should I just do without trying to cycle it? Any advice?
Stupid question: Would it be more cost effective to treat my tap water, or to buy bottled water since it isnt a very big tank?
Please forgive my ignorance, as I said im a total newbie when it comes to fish, but I have already fallen in love with my new buddy! (just got him today for a b-day present)

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum and to the wonderful world of Betta keeping.....

In the smaller tanks-filters can sometimes be the cause of fin damage...not always...but with some of the longer fin males the water flow can really do some damage especially if the water current is strong....

Without a filter in 3gal tank-I would make at least 1-100% water change and 1-50% water change a week to maintain water quality and fin health

With a filter-50% twice weekly and the tank will cycle and you can safely cycle the tank with the Betta provided that you make the twice weekly water changes.....during the nitrogen cycle the twice weekly water changes are to maintain water quality...once the nitrogen cycle is completed...one 50% is for water quality and the other is for fin health...make sure and clean the substrate by vacuum or stir and dip with one of the twice weekly water changes.....