Betta Fish Forum banner

Help me write a fish guide!

666 views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  BakaMandy 
#1 ·
So my coworker wants me to write a guide on taking care of fish for her and some of her friends who keep trying to have Betta fish as pets and... well... fail. ):

She told me to include everything and anything (something she might regret saying xD), so for the last couple of weeks I've been doing research and writing something that's now a little over 6 pages and 3000 words (I'm a slow writer cause I get easily distracted =v=;;)

But since I'm writing this massive guide, I figured I'd put it on the internet someplace after it's finished :)

But first I got to finish it! So I'm wondering if you guys want to help me :D

So far this is the section list that I've got written.
IF YOU HAVE ANYTHING THAT YOU WANT TO ADD OR MENTION, EVEN IF I MIGHT HAVE ALREADY MENTIONED IT, PLEASE POST IT!
I might've missed an important detail!

INDEX
001. PICKING YOUR FISH
(Information on betta fish
Things to look for in a healthy betta)

002. BRINGING A BETTA FISH HOME
(The importance of preparing for your fish and conditioning your fish to its new tank)
----002a. TANKS
(Size and importance)
----002b. FILTERS
(Types of filters and their benefits
Includes: POWER FILTERS, BIOWHEEL FILTERS, CANISTER FILTERS, INTERNAL FILTERS, SPONGE FILTERS, UNDER GRAVEL FILTERS
Reducing current in certain filter models ***IF PEOPLE HAVE TIPS PLEASE POST THEM!***)

----002c. WATER CONDITIONER
(The importance of water condition and the benefits
Includes section on the benefits of Stress Coat and PRIME)

----002d. HEATER/THERMOMETER
(The importance of heaters and the benefits
When and where to use heaters
Alternate methods to heat tanks/bowls)

----002e. ORNAMENTS
(Includes:
Why is it beneficial to have ornaments in a tank
Safe ornaments for betta fish aka that won't tear their fins
Substrate (benefits of Substrate, gravel vs sand, etc.)

Backgrounds, why or why not to use them