Betta Fish Forum banner

What types of fish are compatible with bettas?

6K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  SST 
#1 ·
What types of fish are compatible with a betta in a community tank, say... 50 gallons +?

#4 ·
I keep my female betta with platies, an angel, cories, otos, a plec, and ADFs. The angel will tear a male's fins though. Some tetras can be nippy. Every betta is a bit different on what fish they'll accept in their space, but mine have never been too picky.

#5 ·
Fat_Fender_40 said:
Any fish that is not a fin nipper (tiger barbs, etc..) and other aggressive fish.

Try tetras, plecos, danios, mollies, and other types of community friendly fish.
I had my betta in a tank with my mollies but the mollies nipped his fins and bothered him so much that I had to move my betta, so i wouldn't recommend them.

My Platies worked really well with my betta though.

#10 ·
Compatable?

Hi! I'm new to forum, but have question. I work as a companion for elderly lady who has a male beta.She always had in bowl that I had to frequently change. Recently we got a 10 gallon tank and put her other fish in this tank and moved beta to the 21/2 galon tank they occupied (after cleaning and properly setting up of course) Since I am only there 4 days and when sh tries to feed him, she sometimes puts too much food in so I was constantly having to change filter. To offset this we got a catfish(small) to keep bottom clean. They said to watch to make sure this would not stress either fish. Well, the beta seemed happy as a lark to have a buddy and they were fine. My problem is on the days I am not there her grandson stops and checks in on her and last time he was there he took the catfish out saying they shouldn't be together. Now the beta just lays about. Please give me facts I can show him that he is wrong!!! :roll:

#11 ·