Betta Fish Forum banner

Can you identify this diesease on my betta please?!

3K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  turtle10 
#1 · (Edited)

What is wrong with my betta? What can I do to prevent and cure this problem? Thanks in advance.

- Jamie

See less See more
#2 ·
#3 ·
I believe it could be Ick or Velvet. Ick because it's concentrated a lot on his face. Velvet because of the goldish color and on the second picture it looks like it's on the rest of his body. I heard you can check for velvet by shining a light over your Betta and looking for what looks like a gold or rust colored "dust" on your Betta.

I would wait for a second opinion from a more experienced member, I am still new to Betta and Betta care. I have been doing a lot of research lately and that's what I've heard Velvet and Ick look like. So try looking into those maybe?

#4 ·
Def. look's like some kind of skin problem.
Sorry I could not be of more help, I'm pretty much a newbie when it comes to diseases since my fish rarely get sick.
But the people here are very helpful when it come's to helping someone out.
:)

#5 ·
Agreed, everyone here is great help! If I'm having trouble with research and can't seem to get a straight answer anywhere I get all the help and assurance I need here. :)

Just to help gather a little more info:
How big is your tank:
How often are water changes:
Temperature:
What is the water treated with:
Is there anything else in the tank with him:

#6 ·
c4talys7

My tank is a 1.5-2 gallon fish bowl of stagnant water (ut oh!)

I change 90% of the water every week or week and a half.