Betta Fish Forum banner

Ducky says hi. (first betta, new member and a total noob)

3K views 25 replies 10 participants last post by  jtfyeung 
#1 ·
k. so i got this today. and he is in a tank (22 by 32 by 20 cm) i duno how much gallons that is. i just filled it up almost all the way haha. i am planning to get a heater for it since in canada...the winter here is gona b a totall killer for my new fishy. so yes. i am to feed him once each day, 2-3 pellets of betta food. and to change his water...every..2 weeks....or so i was told by the pet store. but yes. he shall be called ducky, and i will wait for him to make bubble nests!

by the way...can any1 tell me around how many gallons i've got?? and if this tank and environment is suitable enough?

(fake turtles incase ur wondering)

#2 ·
sounds like a 2 gallon tank,
Water change every two weeks is not enough,
You will most likely end up with a sick fish if you adhere to that regiment.
You Should be doing a 25 to 50% water change a minimal of twice a week,

#4 ·
He might like a plant or something to hide behind/play in so he doesn't feel so exposed. :)

You can get a real plant, or a soft fake one, a cave type decoration, or just use something like a candle votive or an old ceramic statue. That's not totally necessary, though.

You can also probably fill it up higher. Haha. It's a huge pet peeve of mine when my aquarium's water level isn't right up to the top. I don't know why... Hhaa.

#6 ·
I like the turtles too

#7 ·
haha thx guys!! but i just went to walmart and bought a sh!t load of stuff 2day for Ducky.

-Tetra brand submersible Heater
- tetra brand whisper internal filter 1-3Gallon
- 2 fake grass
- a new anchor hiding place =D i bet he likes it
- blue-ish gravel.
(FILLED IT UP HIGHER TOO)
- but took out 2 turtles cus no space =='

new aquarium look. plz comment so i can improve =D it looks ok to me, what do u guys think??

#9 ·
can't, its at the tip of the filter x]