Betta Fish Forum banner

question about ammonia

877 views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  thekoimaiden 
#1 ·
hi everyone, i'm fairly new to this and i was wondering what are some things that can happen to a betta when they're exposed to high levels of ammonia? well, besides fin rot.

thanks in advance. :)

#3 ·
The most notable thing is damage to the gills which can be permanent. They will start to look purple and may even bleed. The fish can also develop red streaks on the body and fins as a result of internal hemorrhaging. High levels of ammonia make the fish work harder to maintain an equilibrium which leaves them less energy to fight off infections. This is what causes the fin rot and other infections commonly associated with high ammonia.

If you cycle a tank and do proper water changes on a non-cycled tank you will have no problems with this.

#4 ·
High level of ammonia in water is poisonous and it can kill your betta..it can be prevented by frequent water changes that can lowering the ammonia level..

#5 ·
Ammonia poisoning can happen suddenly, or over a period of days. Initially the fish may be seen gasping at the surface for air. The gills will begin to turn red or lilac in color, and may appear to be bleeding. The fish will being to lose its appetite and become increasingly lethargic. In some cases fish may be observed laying at the bottom of the tank with clamped fins.

As the damage from the ammonia poisoning continues, the tissues will be damaged as evidenced by red streaks or bloody patches that appear on the body and fins. Internal damage is occurring to the brain, organs, and central nervous system. The fish begins to hemorrhage internally and externally, and eventually dies.

Symptoms:

• Fish gasp for breath at the water surface
  • Purple or red gills
  • Fish is lethargic
  • Loss of appetite
  • Fish lays at the bottom of the tank
  • Red streaking on the fins or body

#7 ·