Betta Fish Forum banner

New owner and looking for a better setup... advice?

2K views 39 replies 10 participants last post by  VTAb182 
#1 ·
A couple months ago I was given a betta fish a pet (named him Seafood :]) and I'm really liking the company on my desk! Right now he lives in a 1 gallon (i think) bowl without a heater. The water is at about 69-70 degrees (mid day in my room). He isn't too active and mostly just chills. I want to get a better home for him and see if he perks up any, but I'm new to the fish world.

I've been reading up on bettas and it seems that a 2 or 2.5 gallon tank out fit my needs (bigger than the current one but still small enough for my desk) and a heater are the two things I really need. Any advice on either of these two items would be great (mostly the heater). And does a rounded bowl or a squared tank make a difference, or is it just personal preference?

For food I've been feeding him "Top Fin Color Enhancing Betta Bits." Is there a certain brand of food that is recommended for bettas, or is the kind I have now just fine?

Thanks in advance for all your help! And let me know if you need more info!

#2 ·
im not insanely experienced, and I'm hoping someone else will come here and either comfirm or elaborate what I'll say...but:

69-70 degrees is definitely too cool for him, which is probly why he doesnt move much...I'm glad youre getting a heater =)...I dont have a reccomendation there I'm afraid

as far as a tank I personally just bought a 2gal marineland aquarium system eclipse 2. it was $32 at a lfs and comes with a wonderfully quiet filter and a cute hood with a little fish shaped switch for the light. looks nice and its on my desk in my dorm, so perfect for a desk. I do reccomend if you choose this one though that you get some filter sponge and baffle the filter intake...my poor Marbles had trouble getting away from it...I also put a large plant where the water comes back in because that too created a pretty strong current.