Betta Fish Forum banner

MoonSwimming?

1K views 23 replies 8 participants last post by  TurtleBarb 
#1 ·
My Betta which is new only had him 1 full day so far has been swiming backwards? Is this common? It looks like he is swimming against a current and losing but then he will suddenly stop and remain where he is, so it reminds me of the concept of moonwalking. I have a 10 gallon tank, so he has space :D.
Also I see him at times attacking the wall is this normal too? Is any of this cause for concern?

Oh one more thing, when I fed him this morning he took a long time to eat and spit the food out reate and so forth. Tonight though when I fed him he ate much faster but after he finished 3 pellets he spit like half a pellet out then re ate it. Is spitting food out normal?

Thanks for the advice in advance :D

#2 ·
I can't say anything for the swimming backwards, and I will say up front I'm also new at betta keeping.

Attacking the wall, he probably sees his reflection. Both of mine do the same. I covered the back of the tank on the outside with white paper and that has stopped one of them, the other still does so with the other walls so I'm still trying to think of what I can do for that..

The pellets might be too big for his mouth, spitting out is generally a sign for that. I swapped to a smaller pellet food when my first did the same.

#3 ·
Is he constantly doing it or just doing it to where it looks as if he's trying to back up away or out of something?

#4 ·
He isn't consitantly doing it. More like he is swimming around then it really looks like the current is pushing him but I know there isn't much of the current. He does this more often in the center of the tank. Like he will slow down, then start going bakwards then stop and carry on doing his thing. He does it near the wall a little bit too but that looks much more like he is turning around.
So what do you think?

@Skyr Thanks for the advice also :D

#5 ·