Betta Fish Forum banner

Pop-Eye Help

1K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  copperarabian 
#1 ·
I am very very new to Bettas, and at my office we have one whom I am very attached to. This morning, I changed his water as usual and a few hours later I noticed his left eye was cloudy and swollen! A coworker said this was called "pop-eye", and when I google image searched it I found she was likely right. The guy at the fish store said to clean his water more and see if the swelling goes down, but all the websites say to treat with antibiotics immediately. I am confused and don't know what to do to help the poor little guy

My friend also on this forum said to include this.

Housing
What size is your tank? ...bigger than 2 gallons, that's all I know for sure
What temperature is your tank? slightly above room temperature
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? No, my boss won't spring for one
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Hikari Betta Bio-Gold. He's picky and refuses anything else.
How often do you feed your betta fish? Once a day, in the morning

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? Every other day
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? I believe 75-95%? I don't always do them, my coworkers do too
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? Water conditioner meant for bettas. I don't remember the brand.

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? No, I don't know how

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? Just the swollen, kinda cloudy eye
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? It hasn't. Yet. I'm scared it will.
When did you start noticing the symptoms? This morning, around 11-ish