Betta Fish Forum banner

Lethargic Betta

3K views 27 replies 9 participants last post by  Sakura8 
#1 ·
Hi! I'm new to Betta fish ownership as I purchased my first from Petsmart yesterday.

Duke, the fish, seemed fine when I brought him home and put him in the aquarium but later in the day and for most of today he's been a bit lethargic and won't eat. I've cleaned his aquarium, changed the water, and all of that but I really think he's a little cold but the man at Petsmart said that he would be fine at room temperature. I put him under a translucent window so he will get the warmth from the sunlight but won't be exposed directly to the rays (it gets pretty hot here in Alabama!) Will that be okay for the fish?

Thanks guys!

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum and sorry you are having problems so early...

Need some more information...

What size is the tank, water temp, filter, live plants, additives used, type of food offered......how much and what kind of dechlorinator are you using....

Do you have a thermometer to check the water temp-its also important to monitor the water temp for water changes to keep the water within a couple of degrees between new and old and always use dechlorinator with new water added to the fish....

How did you acclimate him to your water when you first got him....

Its not uncommon for some Betta to have an adjustment period....sometimes it can take a week or two before they settle and eat and settle into a larger space as well...since most of their life they have been kept in small containers for grow-out/keeping....

Can you post a pic of both the Betta and setup.....

#3 · (Edited)