Betta Fish Forum banner

Betta Care Critique -- Looking for Feedback

2K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  dramaqueen 
#1 ·
Greetings,

I'm new to care taking for Bettas, and was hoping this experienced and knowledgable community would be as so kind as to give me a critique in regards to my current care and future considerations.

I'm afraid I don't have a lot to offer yet in regards to contributing to the community (I only have experience raising fancy rats and large dogs) but in time I hope to give back. :)

Betta

I have one half-moon, mostly black Betta male. His name is Luna, and I've had him for nearly two weeks now. He was purchased from Petsmart and seems a bit smaller than the other Bettas on display (still young, maybe?) He's active, has a healthy appetite, constantly looking outside the tank, has built a bubble nest.

Current Tank Set Up

I wasn't intending on buying a Betta when I went to the store, so his current set up is rather minimum. Here are his current specs:

• 1 gallon desktop tank
  • No filter
  • Marina C10 Submersible Aquarium Heater (10 W, heats up to 2.5 gallons)
  • Stays within a temperature range of 74-78 degrees.
  • White gravel substrate
  • 1 hammock leaf
  • 2 live moss balls (was one, but broke off into two)
  • Adhesive thermometer

Maintenance

As I don't have a lot of experience with Bettas, I bought a book and read through it. From talking to others in the group, I've discovered that putting a half a tsp of salt in the water is a no-no, despite the book claiming that they have a reasonable salt tolerance. This is part of what's prompt me to get this critique.

Here's the current care regiment:

• He gets 50% to 60% water change every week with the gravel vac pictured below
  • I get a gallon filled with conditioned water every two weeks from the petstore, that's what I use as oppose to water conditioner
  • I use a glass thermometer to make sure that the water is a good temperature before the change