Betta Fish Forum banner

2 Gallon Tank, Heater Needed? + Other Question...

4K views 25 replies 8 participants last post by  Kim 
#1 ·
I have about a two gallon tank, maybe more or less, for my two Betta's.

- Right now their tank temperature is at about... 69 degrees? Which I believe is too cold. I purchased a mini-heater, which I think I'll use... but I'd like another opinion. Should I use the heater? Especially if I'm planning on moving their tank back to my room, where it's a tad colder than my dining room where they are now..
- Also, they haven't been eating much. I'll put in their pellets, or flakes, and they never seem to eat anything! I've had them for about a week, and they swim around and whatnot, but never eat... Grr!
- Any other tips? Recommendations? I'm totally new to the betta world, so any help I can get would be great.

Thanks! :)

#2 ·
yeah deff use the heater set the temp to 76F when fish are cold they eat less because their metabolism is slowed it's how coi hibernate in frozen ponds or snakes in the winter .. same principle

#7 ·
You think they should be separated? I'll try and work on that...

...So what else should I do? Because apparently, my betta are NOT healthy. At the pet store that I got them though, it said they could survive in a ONE QUART container, so I figured a two gallon for two would be fine, and the pet store agreed. And they told me that it didn't need a heater, which I'm now learning is not good... I put in a mini heater which should bump the temperature to about 71. Should I move them into a bigger tank, and buy a bigger heater?

Ah. I was told betta's would be low-mantinance fish, and I wouldn't have to spend much. I'm not learning that's not true...

#8 ·
Actually, once you get them set up in the proper tank type they are a pretty low maintainence fish.