Betta Fish Forum banner

I Think My Betta Is Dying (Sudden Symptoms)

27K views 17 replies 4 participants last post by  fightergirl2710 
#1 · (Edited)
I would really appreicate if anyone here could offer me any possible explanations/advice for my betta's sudden symptoms. :-( This is what's going on:

I'm not an expert on betta care, but did some research on this site and others 6 months ago when I bought my buddy Monet and things seemed to be going great until today. He's a regular veil tail I bought from a chain petstore, and until today he's seemed perfectly healthy. A few hours ago I noticed that he was hanging around the top of his tank, keeping his mouth near the surface and hardly moving at all. He's still doing it. About ten minutes ago as I watched, he started to sink down through the water. I thought maybe he was dying right then and there, but when he got about halfway to the bottom of his tank he stopped and swam back up. Now he's back up there, looking pathetic. Every once in a while he swims for just a couple seconds but is mostly still.

Another frightening thing: Looking at his tail, it looks as if it's been damaged. It wasn't like that this morning and I'm not sure how it happened - I thought the decorations I have in his tank were safe. Wish I could get him to flare so I could take a good look, but he's too lethargic to do that.

Something that might something to do with all this is that a few days ago, I moved him into a new tank. I thought it would be good for him that I was upgrading him to larger home, but I can't help but think that his sudden illness might have something to do with the move. I used treated (with betta treatment I bought at a petstore) tapwater just like I have been for months, and the water is kept warm by a heater, so I know he's not cold. I did put some new plant bulbs in the aquarium...don't know if that could possibly have anything to do with it?