Betta Fish Forum banner

Max number of female bettas in 10 gallon?

5K views 22 replies 5 participants last post by  FishFaceMartin 
#1 ·
Hey, everybody! I'm Savannah. I'm new to bettafish.com and new to bettas/fish in general, so please bear with me in my newbieness. I've always LOVED fish and have always wanted to get some, but I haven't really gotten the money or the time together to get some until now. Upon searching for my perfect first fish and for other fishy information, I FELL IN LOVE with the Betta fish. I have my 10 gallon tank all set up and everything, and I plan to get some bettas tomorrow.

The question is how many female Bettas can I put in my 10 gallon? Petsmart says 5-6, but on here no one seems to have more than 3 put together at once. Do Bettas get irritated in big crowds? I'm hoping to put only 3 or 4 in there together. Will this work? And if so, is there anything I should be careful of?

Oh, and if I have 3 or 4 in my ten gallon, how often and of what percentages should I do water changes? I've read up in this area, but I'm getting varying answers and am confused.

Answers will be much appreciated!

#2 ·
Hello and welcome to FishForum. You can have 4 females in a ten gallon tank. The tank should have plenty of hiding places. Females can be aggressive so you need to have places for them to hide to get away from each other. There may be some nipping and fighting for the first few days or so, then they will estalish a pecking orderYou'll have to keep an eye on them at this time to make sure things don't get too rough. .Someone else will have to advise you on the water changes. I don't have a 10 gallon myself so I have no idea.

#3 ·
Welcome to fishforum!