Betta Fish Forum banner

Hi Everyone! New to fish keeping

1K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  Oldfishlady 
#1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here looking to get a Male Betta soon. I've been looking around for only a couple days but this forum seems very nice and helpful So I'm very excited to be a member! :)

I'm completely new to fish. Completely. We had those small in very small tanks, ponds etc. when I was little. No cycling, no research and everything was pretty bad. The fish died in a week, if that. :|

A couple years later as I grew, (I'm now a teen) my love of animals got even stronger. I love most animals but unfortunately, my parents don't. I'm not allowed to have any dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs... the 'big time consuming pets' and of course no reptiles or insects. (Mom has a phobia :tongue:)

I decided on a hamster. They do live in a cage so no mess around the house (but they do need a large cage, and like any animal research needs to be done so you can give them the best life possible. :) ) Long story short, After 8 months of researching and convincing parents with strong opinions, I finally found my first pet in a WHILE my Syrian hamster, Cole. :grin:

I've had him for about 6 months now and I'm looking for another pet. I don't have too much space, and another 'big pet' is too time consuming. After asking around I decided on a single Betta in a 5 gallon tank.

I'm here to cram all the knowledge I can into my brain. In a couple months I would like to start searching for Bettas... but only after I've done my research.

This is a totally new thing for me.. Fish care. So I might ask lots and lots of questions. I'll ask very specific questions and through hamster care, I find that 99% of the detailed stuff I worry about isn't an issue and I just ignore it or rarely need it. :p But it's always good to know.