Betta Fish Forum banner

Fin rot, gill damage

1K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  michelleh 
#1 ·
I'm new to Betta Fish care and new to the forum. My children bought a betta a month ago from a pet store. We got some bad advice on caring for him at first, and he ended up getting fin rot and his gills turned purple. I understand that clean water is the best fix, but I am having a heck of a time getting the ammonia levels down. Any advice would be helpful!

Housing
What size is your tank? 2.5 gallons
What temperature is your tank? 72F (usually - I'm having a hard time keeping this stable
Does your tank have a filter? yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? no
Is your tank heated? Yes, but the heater is not adjustable. I'm using a timer to try to keep the temperature stable. I know it is a little too low still, but I have been struggling with the heater
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? 1 mystery snail

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? we have tetra betta flakes (which he likes) and new life betta pellets (which he does not) i've been trying to switch him to the new life pellets, as i understand they are better - we are on day 3 of him spitting them out and not eating
How often do you feed your betta fish? once a day, with one day off during the week

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? every other day - just switched to daily because of persistent ammonia problems
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 1 gallon (so, 40%ish?)
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? aqueon betta bowl plus

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia: .25 (it was at 1 when i first started testing 2 weeks ago. I've had it down to .25 for over a week, but can't seem to get it to 0)
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0
pH: 8.2 (?!?)
Hardness: not sure
Alkalinity: not sure