Betta Fish Forum banner

please tell me, what do you see in here!

1K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  PinkDiamond 
#1 ·
my betta did jump out of his bowl container wen i was doing a water chage to the 10 gallon tank. today is the second day after the insident, and i noticed this: Blue Water Aqua Purple Light

Blue Marine biology Water Organism Electric blue

Blue Fish Fish Marine biology Majorelle blue

Fish Fin Marine biology Fish Organism

so please, can you tell me what it can be, thanks, i really appreciate your help.

See less See more
#5 ·
I don't see any raised scales (is it just me?). He is really bloated though. Fast him for a few days and keep him warm. If he doesn't poop, try some frozen daphnia or a bit of mashed up frozen pea.

I hope it's not Dropsy. Good luck.

#7 ·
I see slightly raised scales in the first picture as well. I don't think hes just bloated either, the swelling is on his body around his dorsal, not his belly.....I'm no expert, but I'd say its a pretty bad bacterial infection.

Wait for a second opinion on this, as I have very little personal experience treating diseases, but I would treat him with a bit of Epsom salt for the swelling and either Maracyn 1+2 or Tetracycline.

#8 · (Edited)
It's really hard to say if they're raised. I thought the first pic. was possibly a reflection of light.

bettatoon - are the scales raised up/sticking out from the sides?

Either way, it looks like you have a sick fishy. Do you test your water for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph? If so, what are the levels?

#9 ·
hello, ok, i'm just little comfuse, am yes, the swelling he has is around his dorsal, not on his belly,
water temperature is 76-78 i have two heater on the tank (10gal, tank.) but those won't heat more than that, and i can not make and adjustmen. (how can i fix that? thanks).
water ammonia level is .25 wich is kind of safe/stress.
fish is swiming well, eating, he flare to his shadow, and he just poop.