Betta Fish Forum banner

New Here (Photos)

1K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  sundstrom 
#1 ·
Hello all! I'm new here. The names Terri. I joined this forum because tonight I bought my latest Betta. (Crown Tail) Well first since I was a freshman in high school. Which wasn't that long ago :)

I need a name for him. I've gotten one suggestion so far : Doug. I'm not soooo sure about it though. Lol

Here are some photos of him being acclimated. Not the best, sorry. I will get much better ones tomorrow.

I picked him up at a local PetSmart. Mainly because even though they keep them in those tiny cups, they were all very clean and from what I could see, none were "floating."

It took me 45 minutes of staring at each Betta before I finally picked him. He was "the ugliest one" and I fell in love :)

So without further adieu . .

I hope he's worthy of your praises on here. I've already grown quite fond of him. As I have with all my fish babes :)

See less See more
#2 ·
I always have an inclination to purchase the ugliest fish just out of fear that no one else will, although I think "Doug" is far from ugly. I had an brown betta that I rescued from Walmart named Puddle because an employee tried to convince me that a 10 gallon was way too big for a fish that lives in puddles in the wild.

#8 ·
Hahaha!! Ooooh gotta love those large chain pet stores. I would buy as many as I could in one swoop, separate them and give them each their own space that's bigger than 1G.

The new guy is exploring his 10G. He's pretty spoiled I suppose when most people (who don't own or know anything about any type of fish) think they can live happily in a dixi cup. I hate seeing how depressed they look. It took me 45-50 mins to decide on him. But I think I made a good choice.

#4 ·