Betta Fish Forum banner

Healthy/gorgeous bettas vs. dull/possibly sick

5K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  doggyhog 
#1 ·
How do you choose between the stunning, healthy looking bettas at the store and the ones who look in DIRE need of help? Do most of you do rescues, or purposely choose gorgeous fish?

Seriously, I'm so torn between the two options, and my heart always gravitates to animals that other people would not want (like when I adopted hamsters, I would pick ones that are missing an ear, have red eyes, or other "problems"). It breaks my heart to think the less fancy bettas may never get a home and stay stuck in their little cup forever. :cry: I certainly don't mind if they aren't fancy, but oftentimes their color improves 100% with a better tank!

At the same time, I have no experience with fish and am afraid I won't be able to help them much, if they have fin rot or something. I'd hate for them to die and be stuck with the heartache.

So......HOW do you choose??? :-(

#2 ·
Personally unless I'm actually looking to take on a rescue I pick the healthy fish. Unless you actually want to spend the time and money to rehab a fish (which could end up dieing anyway) I would advise to go with the healthiest one you find.

#7 ·
Unless you actually want to spend the time and money to rehab a fish (which could end up dieing anyway) I would advise to go with the healthiest one you find.