Betta Fish Forum banner

Bleeding Heart (aka Walmart Betta adoption)

3K views 17 replies 9 participants last post by  xxabc 
#1 ·
Hello, all!

Like so many people on this forum seem to be, I'm a newcomer to this whole betta thing, and got into it a few days ago only by accident. I was with a friend at Walmart (I try, oh so very hard, not to go there myself) and ended up in the fish section, where there were five female bettas, two in pretty bad shape, in their little cups with no more than two inches of water in any of them. I'm a sucker for any animal, so I ended up grabbing what I thought was the ugliest of the three healthy ones because I figured the two pretty ones had a better chance of getting purchased by someone else. I also bought the cheapest tank set I could (1/2 gallon) because, well, I'm a dead-broke grad student and I figured that anything was better than her dying in two inches of dirty water. Plus I've always been told, like most people, I guess, that bettas don't need much room. I expected that she would serve as a desk ornament next to my stuffed dragon.

However, as I've gotten to know this girl (as of yet unnamed), I've become kind of fascinated by her. Her colors have gotten darker and richer since I brought her home, and she really seems to be enjoying actually having room, however little it may be, to move around in. I'm currently planning on forgoing my traditional twice-weekly fast food splurge so that I can save up and buy a bigger tank, as per the general guide here (awesome thread without a ton of over-complicated stuff for beginners, btw), but I have some questions until then.