Betta Fish Forum banner

Should I be concerned?

Tags
illness
1K views 16 replies 4 participants last post by  ANHEL123 
#1 ·
I have two bettas, one of which I bought only a few days ago.

The first of the pair, Mr. T, has recently been treated for velvet. The velvet is now gone, but his fins are not as full as they were before. I am not certain if that is simply because he will not flair them out; but his other behavior is now normal, which leaves me in doubt.

The other betta, Axel, is the newer of the two. I have noticed that, at all times, I can see a little of his gills behind the opercula. Furthermore, he tends to keep his gills slightly expanded. He was this way when I bought him, but I realize that does not negate the possibility of trouble.

I am very new to betta care and have been doing research about these behaviors, but I am not certain whether I am being overly cautious or they really need treatment. If someone could advise me, I would be much obliged.

#2 ·
Well, how is Axel acting? I have one betta who has one gill expanded more than the other, but he has never shown distress, gasping, discoloration, or even sickness including parasites so I stopped worrying :)

Some bettas as they get older, or go through a tough disease/recovery sometimes do not hold their fins as grand. Or, like us when we are sick, then finally get better, we have to work to get ourselves back up the way we were before we were sick, and sometimes bettas do that too.

#4 ·
Gasping, can be with the mouth, or his gills moving more rapidly. Sometimes they "yawn" with their gills too, which my Skull tends to do (the one with the somewhat opened gill) but it hasn't been too recent. Also when a betta is new, they can have inflamed gills, reddened or sore, flukes (parasites), or ammonia burns that are uncomfortable.

#8 · (Edited)