Betta Fish Forum banner

Help needed

Tags
#help
764 views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Myates 
#1 ·
Hello All,

I am new to this whole betta fish thing. I hear they are easy to take care of... BUT I am obviously wrong... I bought a beautiful male from a store 3 days ago. he was healthy, swimming around, puffing at his reflection, etc. NOW he is DEAD. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT I AM DOING WRONG!!! ):<

He is in a 3 gallon cylindrical tank with plastic plants, a heater & no filter. The water is set at 80 degrees. He has a hammock & like I said plastic plants & rocks. I was going to do a water change tonight (the third night he's been here, but now he's dead). I fed him once a day, but only as much as he would eat in 2 -3 minutes... I scooped the rest out. Can ANYONE please tell me what has happened to him? I just do not understand... ):

I love bettas they are SO beautiful & I love them... But I don't want them to keep dying! ):

Help me, please!!!!!

#2 ·
I'm so sorry! Do you have ammonia in the your tap water? Did you use conditioner? How different was the temperature of the new water than the tank water? Was there anything you saw that looked suspicious before he died?
S.I.P. Castiel. :'(

#3 ·
Castiel passed away a few days ago. I changed the tank water & decided to try again. I conditioned it & let it sit for 24ish hours before buying my new guy... I let him float in his store water (in the container) in the tank before adding him. I let him do that for like 4 hours so the water was the same temperature. When I put him into the new tank he seemed great! Loved the hammock & the plants & everything... I fed him every day but like I said, no more than what he could eat in a couple of minutes... He ate fine today & then literally I watched him dart around the tank (RAPIDLY) for like 30 seconds & then he just... died? I guess.... I just want to know what I did wrong... I love bettas... But I want them to be alive..

#5 ·