Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2014, 08:57 PM   #551 
Tree
Member
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northfield Minnesota
How large is the Spec III? they say to just add 1 to 1 1/2 inch of substrate in a 5 gallon. for my tank I have dirt on the bottom that is about an inch and then a thin layer of gravel over it. but you should be good with just the inch of Substrate.
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:05 PM   #552 
jsalexson4689
New Member
 
jsalexson4689's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
After many hours of work here is the completed setup. I really hope the plants take hold and grow well.
Attached Images
 
jsalexson4689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:06 PM   #553 
jsalexson4689
New Member
 
jsalexson4689's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tree View Post
How large is the Spec III? they say to just add 1 to 1 1/2 inch of substrate in a 5 gallon. for my tank I have dirt on the bottom that is about an inch and then a thin layer of gravel over it. but you should be good with just the inch of Substrate.
Its probably better to have more substrate than not enough so Im sure the roots will appreciate the extra room to grow.
jsalexson4689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:11 PM   #554 
Tree
Member
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northfield Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsalexson4689 View Post
After many hours of work here is the completed setup. I really hope the plants take hold and grow well.

oh that looks just fine. =D

and yeah the more substrate the better. ;)
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 03:38 PM   #555 
jsalexson4689
New Member
 
jsalexson4689's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Does anyone have any experience with Flourish Excel and Flourish? I am going to be using them in my Spec III and this dosing information is a bit confusing. I was trying to figure out how many mL for each gallon.
jsalexson4689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:25 PM   #556 
happypappy
Member
 
happypappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
i use excel in my tanks to control algae -- use 7 caps in a 75gal and 3 caps in a 30gal. This is the initial dose and after large water changes; otherwise, I do half dose 2-3 times a week.
happypappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:36 PM   #557 
jsalexson4689
New Member
 
jsalexson4689's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
I am started to doubt my purchase of Eco-Complete, it had tons of good review on amazon so I went with it for the substrate. The plants were very hard to get to stay in the substrate and not stay down. The plants dont look very healthy, good amounts of brown or dieing leaves on the plants. None of the plants look like they are doing well per-say. I dont know what Im doing wrong. I have the tank light on for about 8 hours a day and the water temp is good. I am perplexed.
jsalexson4689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:33 PM   #558 
Tree
Member
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northfield Minnesota
Don't give up on the plants yet. they will melt because they are adjusting to the water. just clip off the dead ones and new leaves will start to grow. I had that issue at the beginning too and thought I was killing them.
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:55 PM   #559 
Flint
Member
 
Flint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Delcambre, Louisiana
The baby tears will stay shorter than your crypts, I would swap their placement. Flourish is a fertilizer while Excel is a CO2 suppliment. I use Flourish regularly.
Flint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:31 PM   #560 
chelley
New Member
 
chelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Fluval Spec V

Hi all,

New here and new to everything fish related! Here's my fluval spec V with my brand new betta Beastie (sorry about the glare). A few questions. I had to put a fluval pre filter sponge on my filter cuz the flow (even on the lowest setting) pushed him to the back of the tank. I just pop it on right? No need to put a hole in it or increase the flow? Is my water still filtering? Thanks!
Attached Images
 
chelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
betta, fluval, nano, planted, spec

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better, fluval Chi or Spec? beacon Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 12-18-2012 08:58 AM
Fluval Chi vs. Aqueon Evolve vs. Fluval SPEC Cargo Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 26 05-29-2012 06:09 PM
New fluval spec set up PixelatedPaint Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 15 01-08-2012 11:12 PM
Fluval Spec owners do you have any problems with the pump stopping? Marieukxx Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 09-01-2011 11:35 AM
Fluval Spec TaylorW Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 16 10-26-2010 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.