Betta Fish Forum banner

Betta's head turned white??

10K views 20 replies 6 participants last post by  Aus 
#1 ·
Hello,
This is my first time posting here and I am hoping someone can help me!

My 5yr old son came home with a betta after a day out with Grandma about 5 months ago - I knew nothing about fish care so we have been learning on the fly. I had him in the tiny little square tank that Grandma bought, but that didn't seem fair and after the reading I was doing it didn't seem very warm either, so I bought a bigger tank after about 2 weeks.

Things have been fine for 5 months, but a few days ago I noticed his head starting to turn white on one side, and now it has progressed to his whole head, both sides. I have moved him back into the tiny bowl while I clean his tank. He is eating just fine, swimming around fine, flaring up at everything (he is fiesty!) and making bubble nests in the little tank...so he doesn't seem miserable, but what do I know about fish?!
Ok, here are the questions answered as best I can:

Housing
What size is your tank? 3.5 gallon
What temperature is your tank? About 81 degrees
Does your tank have a filter? yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? I don't think so...
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Omega One Betta Buffet Pellets
How often do you feed your betta fish? Generally give him 2 or 3 pellets twice/day

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? I hadn't until now...the petstore lady said to just change the filter unless the water got dirty or stinky & it was still crystal clear.
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? n/a
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? I have to add water due to evaporation & then I add a betta water conditioner with the new water.

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? No