Betta Fish Forum banner

College pet!

1K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  DrgnBetta117 
#1 ·
Hey all, I'm about to go off to college and I have put some thought into having a Betta Fish up with me at college. I've seen and heard positive things about these Bettas and how with a little work, make great college pets. I have had some experience with fish, about 2 years or so, so I'm not a complete newb when it comes to fish, but it never helps to ask the experts instead of going to my local Petsmart. I visited the General Betta Care and FAQ Sticky, so I seem to have a rough idea on what I'll need, but I have a few questions:
1. The natural environment they seem to come from indicates a stagnant pool of water or an over glorified puddle. Is this something I would want to simulate with todays bettas or are the ones available in the pet trade too different from their wild brethren?
2. For my fish tanks at home, I always had live plants since, well, they rock. I would assume the same would go for Bettas? I figured Cabomba and/or Anachris in the tank would be a good way to go but are there any other plants that the fish could benefit from? Also, are there any reputable online dealers for live plants? Anyone have any experience with that?

I planed on setting my tank up at college and then purchasing a betta fish (College is 6 hours away from home and fish aren't good travel pets), but I really don't want to spend all this money on a betta from the local walmart. (I've seen those fish and its a wonder they're alive) From what research I did on the morphs, I love the Dragon Betta morph and would love to purchase one from a reputable breeder, so if anyone has a Black Crowntail, please PM me.
Thanks in advance!

See less See more
#2 ·