Betta Fish Forum banner

Good Aquarium Starter Kit

4K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  Laki 
#1 ·
I've been doing some research on smaller tanks that would be good not only for my dorm room but also for me as a first time fish owner. Ideally my tank would be between 2-2.5 gallons, and I'd really prefer it to be in a kit instead of trying to build a tank on my own. I've reduced my search to some of these tanks: Petco 2.5 Gallon Desktop (here); Petco Hex Freshwater-2 gallons (http://www.petco.com/product/113933/PETCO-Hex-Freshwater-Aquarium.aspx); and an Aqueon Mini-Bow 2.5 gallon (here). Except I wouldn't have the divider in.

This would be for one betta, and I was wondering if anyone has used/uses these tanks or if someone has another tank to recommend for a newbie within the same size restrictions.

#3 ·
Hi :)
First of all, I have no experience with these tanks so this is just my 2 cents on them. I can't even see the 2nd tank listed, but I'd go for a 2.5 gallon instead of a 2. Not much of a difference, but still a difference. I'll point out some pros and cons of both tanks that I see by looking at them for you, until someone that's had these can offer advice :)

Petco 2.5 Gal:
It's taller than it is long though, which isn't usually a good choice for a betta- they prefer swimming side to side, not up and down, and it'd take them more time to get to the surface for air. It has a lid, but I can't tell if there's any holes for air, I'm sure around the filter is some space though. The reviews say the filter is effective and silent, which is a good thing.

Aqueon Mini-Bow: