Betta Fish Forum banner

Fred is sick?? :( Don't know with what

1K views 11 replies 3 participants last post by  Sakura8 
#1 ·
Hi! Fred's 5 gallon chi is currently cycling(nitrite levels just shot up! :D) so I'm hoping that the ammonia will go down soon and I will test for nitrate soon(I'm doing the shrimp cycle, fishless).

Anyways, this morning I freaked out because I thought he was dead. He was just lying at the bottom of the tank on his side! I thought he got stuck underneath the new porcelain stone 'leaf' i made for him but he was not at all stuck. I tapped his food to the rim(like I always do before feeding time) and he shot up to the top and started eagerly swimming around. The water was a little cold this morning, maybe 76. I didn't have time to mess with him(I had class) so when I came home, I tested ammonia levels. I just did a 75% water change about two days ago, but the ammonia was high! .75ppm :/ (I'm still learning how to be a good fred caretaker) So I did a full change and took the temp of the water before changing it. It was 78.3 (or .1 or 77.9 don't exactly remember. It stays within that 76(rarely)-80 zone, usually 78-79). I'm getting a heater for the chi.