Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 04-30-2012, 04:57 PM   #1 
clh101

Cool College, Dorm

Hey guys, I'm new to Betta site. Although I've had Bettas since I was little. My first lived to be 6 years old :) And many others lived for long time.

I have a question though- I need a small tank, and fish for college. Want little pet yeah know, I was wondering if anyone had some suggestions? Since it is college and all I'll clean tanks, etc like usually do, but I don't think a 10 gallon tank will fit with the dorm room spaces we have. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
clh101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:04 PM   #2 
copperarabian

You could do a small planted tank with ghost shrimp. Or, a male betta aquarium, or a paradise fish, although they need a little more room because of how active they are.
copperarabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:09 PM   #3 
thekoimaiden

The only fish really suited for being kept in anything under a 10 gallon is a betta (male or female). I had a 5 gallon tank with a male betta while I was in college. It fit perfectly on my desk. If you can, get something that is wider rather than taller, but if space is a premium then a tall tank like a 5 gallon hexagon would work.

While I can't find the exact model I had as I don't think it's made anymore, this looks like a good tank: Aqueon Mini Bow 5 Gallon Aquarium Starter Kit - Fish - Sale - PetSmart Just make sure you have a heater.

And welcome to the forum!
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:14 PM   #4 
sami809

what's the biggest you can go? i've had my fair share of fish tanks in my dorm room so i think i know what i'm talking about c:
if you want a 2.5 gallon, go for Aqueon's fish tanks. i've had a few of those and they're great. however, i'd personally go for Aqueon's 5 gallon tank. those two options are pretty well priced.