Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-17-2007, 08:40 AM   #1 
jwinthers

out of nowhere...

I rescued a couple of bettas from a neighbor who no longer wanted to "hassle" with cleaning their tank. They seemed in good health when I got them but now one of them refuses to eat, appears bloated and seems to be pooling blood around her face and fins. Someone PLEASE HELP MY BABY!! I will take any advice I can get :(
jwinthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 12:12 PM   #2 
kender42

I'm new at this so I can't help but I sympathize deeply.
kender42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 02:43 PM   #3 
beetlebz

pictures would help dramatically! how are you taking care of them? how much and how often are you feeding them?
beetlebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 03:29 PM   #4 
jwinthers

I ended up taking her to the petsmart here in town, I was afraid I was going to lose her, and the guy was really helpful. He said she was showing classic signs of hemorrhagic septicemia so he gave me triple sulfur antibiotic and specific instructions on water change and the like. I've already changed the water and medicated her accordingly, I hope it works. I've never owned bettas before so this site is a blessing! Thank you for your concern, and I will keep you informed on the progress I hope she makes. :)
Old 12-23-2007, 12:23 PM   #5 
SST

How is she doing?
SST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 01:14 AM   #6 
jwinthers

getting there...