Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-17-2007, 11:39 PM   #1 
fayhe37

3 females & 1 male betta in 1 tank??

Hey everyone, Thanks for the advice about male & female in a 10 gal tank. It has all been helpfull.

I bought 2 more females today (3 total now) but what is it with the frickin' pet store employees and their "so called pet knowledge"???? I only asked the girl at Petco how much their female bettas were, she checked, told me the price than said "if you are going to put her in with a male, he will kill her. She than quickly said you need 5 or 6 females to every 1 male betta in your tank because HE WILL KILL ALL THE FEMALES EXCEPT FOR THE ONE HE LIKES & WANTS TO BREED WITH" I didin't even tell her I had a male, or tell her anything else for that matter. Was she just trying to boost sales by saying that?

Now since I am new to all this, and I did get 2 more females (3 total) to take the aggression? from the male (so he ain't chasing the 1 female around all day) should I be expecting to come home 1 day and see dead females (or the male) floating cause they will (by nature?) just kill each other, or should I just throw them in together and whatever happenes, happens. Trial and error sort of lesson?? Any thoughts/comments are always welcome

P.S once I find my camera I will be posting photos. SOON.......

Thanks, Fayhe
fayhe37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 12:30 AM   #2 
rustyness

dont put 3 females and a male together in a tank. in all likelihood your male is eventually bound to be attacked and die, especially with 3 females and a male in a 10 gallon tank (seems a bit crowded to me). the 3 females may be fine in the 10 gallon without a male, though.
rustyness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 12:49 AM   #3 
herefishy
Banned