Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-09-2012, 12:04 PM   #1 
Coppermoon

Introducing Coppermoon

Hi, my name is actually Lori (wanted to use that asmy user name but it wouldn't let me). I live in Midlothian, Texas. I have owned Betta for over 30 years. I have been breeding them since 2006 (started with a red BF VT named Rover White Fin and a red VT female named Juliet). Rover and Juliet gave me 10 spawns in the first 3 months or so of breeding. I had no idea what I was doing. Fry lived 3 days, 5 days, 1 week, 10 days, 14 days,...so on and so forth. The oldest one lived for about a month. I didn't have any fry food for them at all. I finally found a forum that someone was selling MicroWorms. I bought a starter culture. By this time Rover and Juliet both had died. I now had Venus (VT female) and Milo (Plakat male bought from Walmart...marked as female). Venus and Milo gave me my first successful spawn. I had 3 living fry!!! They were fed exclusively MW (I kept them in a guppy breeder in my 55g tank). I had no issues with missing ventrals from feeding MW.

While visiting a pet store, my husband found my Sir William! A beautiful Black Copper Over Half Moon (this is where my website, and then my user name came from) OveraCopperMoon.com and I got my user name while trying to come up with a unique name for my World of Warcraft character. I found a delta tail female at Pet Smart and bread my very first totally successful spawn. I had about 15 fry survive!!! Mr. Attitude was my very fish show fish. I sent him to Houston, Texas in New Breeder and he placed 3rd!!! He got his name because even as a small juvie, he would flare and strut for the BIG BOYS!