Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2012, 06:20 AM   #1 
Pogthefish
Member
 
Pogthefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: maryland
Is this too much light time?

I usually turn on the light at 7ish, 6:45-7:15, but it is light out when I get up at 6. The tank is by a window so I think that is a signifigant amount of light. Ii turn it off at 8-8:30, when it gets dark. even If I never used it, they would still have plenty of light, is this too much light time?
Pogthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 06:46 AM   #2 
Mo
Member
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Not too much, not too little either. Usually you would want to stay around 8 hours of light as algae will thrive of the light is on longer, I personally have my lights on 12 hours a day, but that is purely because I have all planted tanks, and want to ensure there growth
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:56 PM   #3 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
Without plants, the only thing you need to worry about is that your betta has at least 8 hours of complete darkness. Light time is really only needed when dealing with live plants. If you begin to see a lot of algae then you'd want to cut the time back to 5-6 hours.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:38 PM   #4 
Pogthefish
Member
 
Pogthefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: maryland
but its next to a window so I can't really control it...
Pogthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:39 PM   #5 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
Direct sunlight is what causes most problems with algae. Just close the blinds. I have a tank that gets about 2-3 hours of morning sun and will become green with algae if I don't have the blinds closed.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:47 PM   #6 
Pogthefish
Member
 
Pogthefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: maryland
We dont have blinds.. :/ lol we had some curtains but the fish kept splashing dirty water on them.
Pogthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:34 PM   #7 
Mo
Member
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
You can possibly use the curtains. If you arent having algae problems though, then I wouldn't mess with it
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:35 PM   #8 
Pogthefish
Member
 
Pogthefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: maryland
yeah no problems with taht.. well... yeah no problems :P

i have SOME algae, but i manage it :)
Pogthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.