Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-22-2012, 07:59 PM   #1 
Pogthefish

Unhappy Fish not eating?

I am at my friends house and she has a betta fish that is nto eating. they dont take very good care of there fish, like... theres somethign wrong with thier water. (she says) they doi water changes like once a month. The fish is very skinny and there is floating food in the tank, but it never takes it. its a 2 gallon. welll 2.5 but it evaporated...

What could it be? I offered to take it home to treat but they declined the offer. thanks! If they cant fix it themselves they might let me.

oh no filter, no heater. i would use the official thingy for disease but this is all i have on it, im really trying to help but i dont want to seem rude to them, thanks!
Pogthefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:05 PM   #2 
Alcemistnv

I'm not an expert, but knowing that water changes are only being done once a month with no filter or heater is definitely not a good thing. I can't even go a week without getting worried about Buddha!

There might be multiple factors in the problem with the water, such as hard water, high ammonia content, etc. and they might be affecting the poor thing. He might be sick and that could possibly be affecting his need to eat. Knowing the tank is dirty might make him sick. :/

In my opinion, the poor guy needs a new place who is willing to care for him.
Alcemistnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:08 PM   #3 
flowerslegacy

Hi Pog - Not much you can do if they won't let you. When a fish stops eating, it's not a good sign. If they have a 2 gal and they don't change the water then he's sitting in chemicals and he's dieing. He probably has a bacterial infection which has caused the SBD.