Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-27-2012, 08:10 AM   #1 
Batmantha

Smile New Giant Betta

I recently bought a giant purple/pink betta, I saw him at the pet shop and couldn't help myself, he was absolutely gorgeous. I have him in a little transition tank at the moment and he will be moved to my aqua one 126 tank that I bought for him once its cycled.

The aqua one 126 is
22 litres = 5.81178515 US gallons

and seems to be a decent little set up. At the moment I only have gravel in it but I'm hoping to find some decent plants and/or ornaments for it this week. I have a floating moss ball from my bigger tropical tank that I'm thinking of moving over into this tank and I haven't decided on anything else yet.

Since I'm new at having a Betta I thought I would ask some experts if there would be any plants the Betta would prefer that would be fairly easy to grow and if anyone had any experience with this type of tank as I have heard some filters need to be baffled for the Bettas to be comfortable but I am not sure if this filter would need it

Also any help on a tank mate for him - I was hoping for a dwarf algae eater or 2

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
Batmantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 09:36 AM   #2 
Sheldon31

Hmm a 5 gal isn't big enough for anymore fish but you could have a nerite snail or some shrimp. Shrimp sometimes get eaten but if they have enough to hide in they will be fine.

Bettas like leafy plants and My ky loves swishing through his water wisteria but CLoud likes weaving in and out of my cabomba but plants with larger leaves are good for resting on.