Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-28-2012, 11:10 AM   #1 
Erin908

Arrow Getting ready for the show

Ok, I'll be the first to admit it: I'm new to betta fish and showing them. I am getting ready for an upcoming show at the Oakland County Fair on July 12 and need some advice.

1. Does anyone have any idea what it is like to show bettas at the County Fair level? (i.e how does the show work?, what can I expect?)

2. Is there anything that I should be doing to prepare my betta for the show? (i.e Special foods, training, etc.)

3. If so, what?
Erin908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 06:36 PM   #2 
soccerdog693

OMG!!! I grew up in the Oakland County Fair!! I was a 4-Her from ages 8 to 19! In fact my mom is the Dog Superintendent. I'm assuming you are showing in pocket pets? I haven't shown bettas, but I used to show guinea pigs and rats in pocket pets, and won best in show several times. I also did horse, rabbits, and dogs, but that's besides the point. Anyway, small world :P
soccerdog693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:19 PM   #3 
Erin908

Ha ha! How weird! I guess it is a small world.
Old 05-28-2012, 08:23 PM   #4 
Erin908

Oh, btw how did the pocket pets section of the fair work? Did the judges just walk around and look at the animals or are you required to take them a special judging platform? And how do the awards get handed out? Do they give them at a award ceremony or do they just hand them to you? (I told you I was new to this)
Old 05-28-2012, 09:22 PM   #5 
soccerdog693

OK, so if it has stayed the same, pocket pets is divided into several sections based on the type of animal. You compete first with people in your section/age group, then the winners get judged overall for best in show.