Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-28-2012, 01:59 PM   #1 
flagirl

Fin Rot or Tear?

I am new to the Betta world, and am in need of advice. I've had my boy for a week now, he was in a 1 gallon, but now is in a 3.5 gallon with a filter. His color seems to be coming in (he was very pale when I got him from the store) but I noticed he has a rip in his fin, worried it may be fin rot. I just moved him into his new 3.5 gallon two days ago and he's definitely enjoying the room (swimming all over the place).

The two pics are:
1. of him yesterday
2. of him today

Does fin rot happen this fast/over night? Or could he have caught his fin on something in the tank while swimming?
Attached Images

flagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:08 PM   #2 
flagirl

*forgot to attach the following:

Housing
What size is your tank? 3.5 gallons
What temperature is your tank? 79 F
Does your tank have a filter? yes, mini might filter, baffled with a sponge
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? no
Is your tank heated? doesn't seem to need it, room temp stays at 76/77
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? n/a

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? alternate between pellets and frozen blood worms
How often do you feed your betta fish? twice a day -morning and evening

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? 50% weekly, 100%biweekly
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?dechlorinator

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters? no

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? more color, but rip in fin