Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 05-31-2012, 10:08 AM   #1 
Anitax3x

Talking Holy baby balloons! (surprise fry)

So I have about 5 Balloon Molly fry in my breeding trap in my 20 gal tank heated and filtered. It's not a net it's clear floating breeder. I found them this morning while getting ready for class. Hiding in my plants. So if I find more when I get home I won't be surprised. I have frozen blood worms and I'm looking to get brine shrimp frozen. This morning I just crushed up fish flakes for them because I have class. I have an empty 5 gallon tank should I set that up? I also have sponge filters should I set that up of leave them without a filter? I'm gonna get a snail to help keep the tank clean. I have an empty 10 gal as well if I need to use that. I have no experience with fry so I am desperate for help. I have aq salt. So if anyone could give me advice I appreciate it

I'm so excited bc they are too cute. I hope crushing the fish flakes was ok. I had no time to thaw and prepare the blood worms. Thanks guys!
Anitax3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 12:03 PM   #2 
Anitax3x

I'm going to petsmart and petco today any suggestions are a huge help!
Old 05-31-2012, 12:16 PM   #3 
MollyJean

Set up the new tank but if the filter is something that is liable to suck them in, you need to get a sponge to cover it (filter material) and heating is a must. Make sure they have something to hide around and under, too. They do fine on crushed up flakes, but if you have baby live brine shrimp, those are good, too. No freeze dried food that young, and blood worms don't really give them any nutrition. Flakes is your best bet.