Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-01-2012, 02:56 PM   #1 
GhostFeather

Judge this male-please

Hi,
I would appreciate opinions on this male.
http://www.aquabid.com/uploads/fwbettashm1338731161.jpg
Thanks
GhostFeather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 06:13 PM   #2 
tpocicat

Wonderful color, slightly OHM, anal fin is just a touch too long. That's all I've got.
tpocicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 06:57 PM   #3 
shadowpony

Im not an expert but his dorsal could be a tad bigger.
shadowpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 09:39 PM   #4 
GhostFeather

Thanks,I am looking at a few on AB.
Mostly Chards fish and this one(which comes with a sibling female).
GhostFeather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:52 AM   #5 
bettalover2033

Well as my imput for the male, I wouldn't breed him. His dorsal doesn't look right. It looks like its going at a slant when it's supposed to be like a round circle. As for the caudal, he is a rose tail and for one I don't breed rose tails because of how many excessive rays they produce. As for his anal fin, it's too long. You don't want the anal to be so long because about 75-80% of them will have anal fins that are too long.

If you're looking for a pair, I'd suggest you get them from a breeder who has a great history of quality fish or look at importing bettas. It can definitely be more expensive but worth it. Breeding fish like the male you posted will give you too much burden to handle and way too many flaws to fix.

I would suggest a different breeder than Chard for better quality bettas.
bettalover2033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 11:48 AM   #6 
lvandert