Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-09-2012, 12:55 PM   #1 
CharleneEchols

Smile Planning a 10G Planted Betta Sorority

Hello, everyone! I am here planning a 10 gallon sorority. I will be housing 8 girls and 10 ghost shrimp. I know this is overstocking, I can handle it. If it becomes an issue among the girls, I'll handle it. I would like no criticism on this, please. Now, I will be planting. This is my first time planting and would like some tips! I will be using pea gravel I purchased from my local Wal-Mart as a substrate. It is currently in my 33G hex front (that I am selling with heater, filter, leftover gravel, plastic plants, stand, ect!) that currently houses a small Red Devil and Royal Pleco (also selling, pm if interested). I will be using a 6,500k T8 Florescent bulb. The plants will be whatever I can get from my local Petsmart and Petco so nothing too difficult. As far as fertilizers and plant food go, can I use API liquid? Also, will I be able to add the shrimp immediately after the tank is filled or do I have to wait? I'll be letting the plants grow as I accumulate females (I plan on visiting Petsmart, Petco and my LPS on a weekly basis to get my females and they will live in their cups until I feel my tank is where I want it. I will do daily water changes on their cups with a baster. I want to prepare their food, if anyone knows any good recipes that are great for Bettas, please, let me know. I will have no filtration or airiation in this tank since it is just not needed. I will have a small heater (what is a good temperature for them?) and a thermometer in the tank. This is all so far, so if you have any input or suggestions, please, let me know. Thanks!

Charlene
CharleneEchols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 04:20 PM   #2 
Jupiter