Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-13-2012, 12:21 PM   #1 
Sam I Am

Tail biter?

I've got a question. Last night I was at my local Petsmart and couldn't help but look at the bettas (you all know what I'm talking about). I found the most beautiful violet male ?VT. The problem is, he was missing most of his tail fin. I had previously looked on this site regarding fin rot, and I don't think that's what he has. What was left of the tail was smooth on the edges, not ragged at all, and was not discolored. There was even some clear tissue on the end of the tail (maybe he's starting to heal?). I asked if they discounted fish with issues at all and they're checking today for me. But my question is...I'm fairly new at dealing with bettas. I've had bettas for a few months and have successfully raised 1 baby betta to adulthood, 1 baby betta is a juvie, and 1 baby betta has been with me for a week and a half and is thriving. But I wouldn't say I'm experienced by any means. Would I be in way over my head with a tail biter or is it do-able?

Right away he would be in a 1/2 gallon unfiltered betta tank. (I have a 1 gallon that would eventually be his, but it's occupied at the moment and that betta won't be moving for at least another week or two.) I know this isn't ideal but it would have fake plants and clean, frequent water changes, which I think is a step up from the dirty little cup he's in now. Also, my bettas live in the main living area of our house so there's stimulation/interaction from us frequently.

What do you think? Any comments/suggestions/opinions? I really want to be a good pet parent and if this is really complex and over my head I would like to know.

Thanks!
Sam I Am is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 12:32 PM   #2 
ZackyBear