Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-14-2012, 09:44 PM   #1 
GrayL

New Baby owner, I have questions.

Alright, so I am a newbie at fish. Earlier today, I bought a Baby Betta from PetsMart. I have it in a plastic cube thing, that is ment to be "showy". I don't own a heater, but our house is generally around 78-80 degrees, so would one be neccisary? The tank is half a gallon (I think). I would like to buy a 10 gallon or a 2.5. I have a filter, but it's ment for larger tanks so I do not think it would work with the 2.5. Should I get a heater? As of now, I'm feeding it "TetraBetta Floating Mini Pellets". I want to make sure the Betta likes a happy life, but I don't want to break the bank. If there is any referance threads anyone reccomends, please point me to them. Thank you!
GrayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:26 PM   #2 
Tigress

I would get a heater. The only way to know whether or not you really need one is if you get an aquarium thermometer and monitor the temperature. The temperature needs to be 80F I believe, and STAY there. (Someone correct me if I'm wrong about the temp)

Betta babies are more sensitive to temperature changes. Things can happen that cause a temperature to drop. I would be on the safe side and get a heater to make sure that temperature stay as stable as possible.

I would upgrade if you can. A bigger tank is generally more stable in water quality and temperature. Plus a half gallon is pretty small for a betta, even a baby betta.

Beware of filters. Filters are known to suck up an Adult's fins in the filter in take. Plus they are generally too strong and push the bettas around. I would imagine a filter would be too much for your little one. I do recommend a filter though to keep the water quality as best as possible. Sponge filters are awesome for baby bettas.

I hope this helps :)
Tigress is offline   Reply With Quote