Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-16-2012, 11:04 AM   #1 
dazegoneby

Help!

Help! I'm a total newbie at setting up tanks for Bettas! I had one many years ago that I had in a vase with a lily plant and it lived for years but I am having problems now.

I set up a 2 gallon tank for my kids and we picked out a Betta. I let the tank run for 24hrs and transferred the fish last night. This morning he looks sick. As I'm reading the boards here, it sounds like ammonia poisoning?

Is there any way to save him now? My girls are crushed (even though we've had long discussions about the fragility of fish).
dazegoneby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:18 AM   #2 
lvandert

Change the water 50% every other day with a 2 gallon. Get a heater, really it will help a ton. The ammonia poisoning could be from being in his tiny cup too long. It will take a lot of clean waters and warm water. If you have a filter on either turn it down to a trickle or turn it off completely. If you have ANY other fish in there remove/return or find a new home for it. A 2 gallon is WAY to small for multiple fish.
lvandert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 12:43 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady

Sorry you are having problems.....

What is the water temp and how did you acclimate him to the new tank, how much and what kind of dechlorinator did you use.....and any other additives....

Right now-I would recommend that you turn off the filter and make a 50% water change using double dose dechlorinator in the like temp replacement water and if he is struggling to swim-lower the water level by half after the water change......

Make 25% daily water changes for a few days and see if this will perk him up....If not he may need a treatment......