Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-17-2012, 04:06 PM   #1 
TigerRegalia

Rollercoaster w/fin rot & disappearing fins despite meds, AQ salt, & pristine water

Hi everyone,
I have had my sweet betta, Tom, since January of this year, and it has been a roller coaster with the condition of his rear fin ever since I brought him home from PetSmart. I think he already had some fin rot coming home from the store, and I have beaten it a few times only to have it either be very resilient or to see his rear fin mysteriously continue to dissolve without any signs of it at all. Tom is a very happy fish; he is spunky and fun-loving, so there haven't been any problems with his behavior. I have been keeping a betta consistently for about 5-6 years, so I am experienced in how to care for them. Thus, I feel like I have done all that I know to do and do not know WHAT is going on. I appreciate any help you can give me!

Here are my answers to the questions:

Housing
What size is your tank? 1 gallon. Please do not make judgmental comments about his living space; I live in a dorm room with very limited space, but I am in the process of upgrading to a 5-gallon tank, and his water conditions are pristine.
What temperature is your tank? constant 78-80 degrees
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? It used to when I first got Tom in January, but I took it out (it was an undergravel aeration system) because Tom did not like the current that it caused in the water.
Is your tank heated? Yes; I have a mini heater that keeps his water in the 78-80 degree range.
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food