Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-24-2012, 10:52 AM   #1 
Lexipixie

Spitting out food? Normal?

ok, so i'm totally new to the fish and betta world (except for having fish when i was a kid, which i don't really remember)...

my little guy looks like he's spitting out his food. is this normal? i'm feeding him betta flakes (Tetra BettaMin) and one or two freeze dried bloodworms occassionally... especially with the flakes, he eats them, but then it looks like he's spitting some out. haha. and sometimes he'll go back to the stuff he spit out and eat it again.
i'm sorry if this is a stupid question and it's just part of the way they "chew" or digest or something... i'm just confused and want to make sure there's not something wrong with him or wrong with the food!

thanks!
Lexipixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 11:10 AM   #2 
marktrc

My young Ollie did that on bettamin. I would see it get spit out and re-eatten and spit out. It would end up on the bottom of my tank and in the gravel. I switched him to hikari betta pellets. The 3 bettas I currently have love it more then dried shrimp, blood worms, wardleys pellets or bettamin flakes. (Don't get wardleys pellets. The pellets are too big). I see people talk about other good pellets but I just mention hikari because it is in most stores (at least in Hawaii) and I have experience with it.
marktrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 11:41 AM   #3 
Eveh

My betta Oddie does the same thing. To me it seems like hes trying to eat it but he can't get a grip on it. Then he ends up being spit out. Thats why he he didn't have breakfast.

Edit: i have wardley pellets! Should I get new ones?
Eveh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 11:59 AM   #4 
marktrc