Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 06-26-2012, 01:36 PM   #1 
Kalani

New here :)

Hi My name is Kathy (and I equally answer to Kalani lol) and I am new to bettas.
I don't have a betta yet and am currently cycling my first aquarium (a 5 gallon) and slowly adding what I need before getting my fish in the next two weeks.

My husband, kids and I are all looking forward to getting a betta (they are cute and full of personality) but we've decided to stick to our local pet shops.(petco and petsmart are a good 30 miles from us)

Pet shop A has one or two bettas in mixed tanks with other fish.....I'm not even sure that they have them labeled correctly. (One is labeled as female, and I'm pretty sure its a male). They do look healthy however but my hackles are raised as apparently these fish come from some sort of fish mart, bought wholesale, plus the mislabeling of an obvious male. They also had a betta in a glass vase....I was really bothered by that.

Pet shop B has 9-10 bettas, gender is not labeled however each betta is in a 1 gallon bowl but the pet store has a good rep for keeping healthy fish and changing water regularly. I believe they are from local breeders.
The downside is they are pretty far from us, but its a better run shop. (The owners started off as fish breeders too)

I'm hoping to start this out right and I'm afraid of getting a betta and it dying within 2 weeks or something.
Kalani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 08:25 PM   #2 
Purple

Welcome to BettaFish.Com, Kathy!!