Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2012, 11:03 AM   #11 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
I think ill stick to pure amonia.
Can i put live plants in during the cycle or is best to wait untill its finished?
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 01:17 PM   #12 
Sena Hansler
Member
 
Sena Hansler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CANADA
live plants keep ammonia down, and you won't be able to watch the cycle as easily, as the readings will be different I'd say just wait for now.
Sena Hansler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:18 PM   #13 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairy74 View Post
I think ill stick to pure amonia.
Make sure it's 'pure' ammonia. Shake the bottle; if it foams, it is NOT pure ammonia.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fairy74 View Post
Can i put live plants in during the cycle or is best to wait untill its finished?
The few plants I think you're talking about will not effect your cycle.

Major tip: Beg, borrow, or steak some live nitrifying bacteria, the beneficial bacteria which will kickstart your cycle. Even a little helps a lot. The stuff that comes in a bottle is not the same thing.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:51 PM   #14 
bahamut285
Member
 
bahamut285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
If you're going to be using pure ammonia with no fish, you can honestly pour around 4-5ppm (that's what I did) into the tank and just monitor it. It would be like a grand feast available for bacteria to move in.

The fastest I've cycled (unassisted) was 27 days for a 5 gallon tank at 4ppm ammonia with no fish or plants.

The fastest cycling assisted (with a filter cartridge from an established tank) was a day-ish, I forget, it was a long time ago before I started writing readings down.
bahamut285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:29 AM   #15 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
I have a biorb that has been running for 17 months which has a few female bettas in it...but the filter isnt the best which is a shame,how about taking some of the ceramic media out and putting that in the new tank?
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:19 AM   #16 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairy74 View Post
I have a biorb that has been running for 17 months...
That ought to be cycled by now. Wouldn't you think? ;-}

Quote:
Originally Posted by fairy74 View Post
.....how about taking some of the ceramic media out and putting that in the new tank?
That's how it's done. The best place to put that media is in your new filter.

Good advice from Bahamut on dosing the ammonia to ~ 4.0ppm. Also, run the temperature up >85* and add an airstone, if you have one.

@ Bahamut...The first time I dropped a well-seasoned filter into a new tank with 4.0ppm NH3, it dropped to 0.0ppm in about 6 hours. I thought I'd done something wrong....LoL. But it took about ten days to transfer the cycle to another filter in that tank.

Last edited by Hallyx; 07-03-2012 at 02:22 AM.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:38 PM   #17 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
I dont think i worded what i said right lol.
The biorb is still being used so could i drop some of the stones from it in to my new tank to help cycling?
Or maybe take out half the sponge from the biorb and put that in the new filter?
Would my bettas in the biorb be ok with half old half new sponge untill the large tank is cycled?
Hope im making sense
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:41 PM   #18 
bahamut285
Member
 
bahamut285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
@Fairy74: Take out some of the ceramic media rocks, put them in a mesh or net as close as to your filter as possible. Ripping up the sponge is not necessary and far too much work
bahamut285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:44 PM   #19 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Thanks for all the help,just one more thing....does adding used media just speed up the process or does it mean i use less amonia?
Thank you.
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:46 PM   #20 
bahamut285
Member
 
bahamut285's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Canada
It just speeds the process because the bacteria just have to "move" rather than re-colonize. You still have to add ammonia like normal or else they will starve and die
bahamut285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For anyone cycling with Tetra Safe Start. wallywestisthebest333 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 37 03-15-2014 09:59 PM
Add Start Right when cycling new tank? kim68048 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 06-05-2012 08:27 PM
About to start cycling Cinderwolf Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 10 03-30-2012 06:22 PM
Gravel to speed up cycling emeltee Betta Fish Care 4 10-28-2010 08:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.